Original Source: Canadian Wood Council, January 15, 2015


Wood Awards Recognizes Innovation in Architecture and Design
Award Recipients Announced

Ottawa, ON, January 15, 2015 – After receiving an impressive number of high quality submissions, Wood Design & Building magazine is delighted to announce the award recipients for the prestigious 2014 Wood Design Awards program. Twenty-four projects were hand selected from more than 166 online entries by an esteemed architectural jury consisting of:

Special awards were also granted by the Canadian Wood Council as well as this year’s award sponsors, Sustainable Forestry Initiative and Western Red Cedar.

Innovation was a common theme throughout the submissions, including examples from overseas, with a clear and concise dedication to building material choice and respect for surrounding environments.

“The calibre of projects submitted displayed a mature sense of design that either paid homage to older building techniques or completely reinvented the conventional way of thinking about building envelope and design,” explained Etienne Lalonde, Vice-President of Market Development for the Canadian Wood Council. “The Wood Design Awards showcases exceptional wood buildings that not only display the unique qualities of wood, but also serve to inspire other designers who may not initially think of wood as the material of choice,” added Theresa Rogers, Editor, Wood Design & Building magazine.

The Wood Design & Building magazine, in partnership with the Canadian Wood Council, would like to thank everyone who participated in the 2014 Awards program, and congratulate all of the winning projects. A special thank you is also extended to this year’s sponsors, the Sustainable Forestry Initiative and Real Cedar.

The Award Recipients for the 2014 Wood Design Awards program:



  • Vineyard at the Lake of Constance, Hattnau 62, Germany, Elmar Ludescher Architekt
  • Sport Center Sargans, Sargans, Switzerland, Blue Architects and Ruprecht Architekten


  • Serlachius Museum “Gösta Pavilion” Mänttä, Mänttä, Finland, MX-SI architectural studio and HuttunenLipasti-Pakkanen Architects Oy


  • Timber Dentistry, Mino Osaka, Japan, Kohki Hiranuma Architect & Associates



  • Wood Innovation Design Centre, Prince George, BC, Michael Green Architecture
  • Refuge on the Bay of Fundy, Red Bank Farm, Hants County, NS, MacKay-Lyons Sweetapple Architects
  • Aspen Art Museum, Aspen, CO, Shigeru Ban Architects


  • BC Passive House Plant, Pemberton, BC, Hemsworth Architecture
  • University of British Columbia Earth Sciences Building, Vancouver, BC, Perkins+Will
  • Marvin Hall Forum, Lawrence, KS, The University of Kansas School of Architecture, Design & Planning, Studio 804
  • Borden Park Pavilion, Edmonton, AB, Gh3 Architects
  • Askew’s Uptown Food Store, Salmon Arm, BC, Allen + Maurer Architects Ltd.
  • Siège social Desjardins, Caisse de l’Ouest de la Mauricie, Louiseville, QC, Atelier Pierre Thibault


  • Ronald McDonald House British Columbia, Vancouver, BC, Michael Green Architecture
  • Elizabeth II, Amagansett, NY, Bates Masi + Architects
  • TD Place Stadium at Lansdowne Park, Ottawa, ON, CannonDesign
  • Muckleshoot Smokehouse, Auburn, WA, Mahlum Architects
  • TED Vancouver 2014 ‘Next Chapter’ Theatre Seating Structure and Interior Design at the Vancouver Convention Centre West, Vancouver, BC, Rockwell Group
  • Brillhart House, Miami, FL, Brillhart Architecture
  • Home Ranch Welcome Center, Jackson, WY, Carney Logan Burke Architects


  • Block Island Residence, Block Island, RI, Bohlin Cywinski Jackson
  • Bow River Bridge, Banff, AB, StructureCraft Builders


  • Askew’s Uptown Food Store, Salmon Arm, BC, Allen + Maurer Architects Ltd.


  • Elizabeth II, Amagansett, NY, Bates Masi + Architects

Wood Design Awards
A program of the Canadian Wood Council and implemented through its Wood Design & Building magazine, it is the only North American awards program to publicly recognize and award excellence and innovation in wood architecture. To learn more about the program or to purchase a copy of the popular Wood Design Awards book, please visit www.wooddesignawards.com.

Click here to continue reading…